About Bethany

Bethany HenselAchievements abound in Bethany Hensel’s young career. Best known for her work as an arts and entertainment writer, she has compiled a vast and varied catalogue of work.  Since her breakthrough into publishing in 2007, she has interviewed such people as NBC Last Comic Standing semi-finalist and 2013 Academy Awards writer Jesse Joyce, Hollywood Bowl Hall of Fame Award winner Sarah Chang, Sex and the City actor Bryan Callen, internationally-renowned psychic medium John Edward, Criss Angel’s Phenomenon television show winner magician Mike Super, Emmy winner Hank Phillippi Ryan, two-time silver medalist figure skater Marie-France Dubreuil, CEO of the Romantic Times Kathryn Falk, New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu and many more.

Her first job in publishing was as Senior Writer with Lux Magazine, where she was able to review dozens of incredible shows such as Circus Oz, Walking with Dinosaurs, and the Tony-award winning Amadeus, as well as interview amazing Pittsburgh people such as Artistic Producing Director of Point Park University’s Pittsburgh Playhouse Ronald Allan-Lindblom, actor and Richard Rogers Award-winning playwright Marcus Stevens, founder of Pittsburgh Irish and Classical Theatre Andrew Paul, Mayor Luke Ravensthal and more.


Bethany Hensel Quotes Julia QuinnBethany also created six blog series, the first of which was the highly popular Pittsburgh Featured Model.  She followed that success with Booklover’s Tuesdays and Fridays as a way to promote the national Romantic Times Convention, which she also covered extensively.

That series afforded her the chance to meet and interview a plethora of international and national bestselling novelists such as Jeaniene Frost, Julie Anne Long, Barry Eisler, Christine Feehan, Mary Jo Putney, Kim Harrison, Heather Graham, Lisa Dale, Lori Foster, Celeste Bradley and Mary Balogh. She co-authored Friday Night Rush, a series devoted entirely to the newly inducted Rock and Roll Hall of Fame band Rush.

Finally, with So Thrill Me, Seasons Readings, and Ten Most Fascinating People in Publishing, Bethany broadened her interviews to include literary agents and editors such as Jodi Reamer, Nathan Bransford, Kristin Nelson, and Dan Lazar in addition to authors Julia Quinn, Ally Carter, Sherry Thomas, Marianne Mancusi, Rachel Vincent, Kelli Stanley, JA Konrath, Jackson Pearce, Jason Pinter, Teresa Medeiros and more.


Bethany Hensel Quotes BIBethany created her own arts and entertainment site in June 2012.

Since the site’s inception, Bethany has reviewed shows produced by the Civic Light Opera, Pittsburgh Irish and Classical Theatre, Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre, Pittsburgh Musical Theatre, Pittsburgh Public Theatre, City Theater and more.  She has also interviewed dozens of artists from all areas of entertainment, including Founding Artistic Director of The Company of Pittsburgh John Allen Biles, Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre principal dancer Alexandra Kochis, RITA-award winner Gwyn Cready, cast members of the 25th anniversary touring company of Les Miserables including Peter Lockyer (Jean Valjean), Devin Ilaw (Marius) and Jason Forbach (Enjolras), IJA bronze medal champion Michael Karas, 2007 Pittsburgh’s Performer of the Year David Whalen; literary agent Sara Megibow and many others.

“I love what I do, I love getting to meet all of these extraordinary people and review all of these incredible shows and books. It’s inspiring. It really drives home how important and powerful the arts really are.” ~Bethany

Bethany has also contributed articles to Pittsburgh’s City Paper as well as to the Tribune Review’s Wedding Essentials and Caregiver magazines. She recently finished work with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, where she wrote critical essays and analysis on dazzling symphonic and orchestral works like Franz Haydn’s Concerto No. 2 in G major for Violin and Orchestra, Darius Milhauld’s Concertino de Printemps for Violin and Orchestra, Edvard Grieg’s Concerto in A minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 16, and Antonin Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, “From the New World”. 


Bethany Hensel Quotes CJIn addition to her work as an arts and entertainment writer, Bethany also writes books for adults and young adults. Her recent book, Sweetly Irresistible, is available now. It takes place in the fictional small town of Silver Lake, where the weather’s cool, the men are hot and the women want more than just a love story. Fans of Lisa Kleypas, Debbie Macomber, Bella Andre and Barbara Freethy will love these sexy tales of romance.

The next book in the Taking Chances series will be released this summer. For more information, click here.

“I want my books to entertain you, but I also want them to make you feel good. I hope my stories are perfect antidotes to a long, hard day .” ~Bethany

Born in Seoul, South Korea but adopted when she was young, Bethany was raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and is one of fourteen children.  As a child, she performed with the Pittsburgh All-City Honors Jr. Strings Symphony and the Pittsburgh All-City Honors Orchestra. She won second place in a national baton twirling competition with the Modernettes of America when she was 11.  She is an avid animal rights activist and works with the Pittsburgh CAT and the Western PA Humane Society.

Bethany Hensel Button Quick facts        Bethany Hensel Button Quotables        Bethany Hensel Button short bio black

 

One comment

Comments are closed.